Going HAM(ilton)

On December 21, 2016, I witnessed the Broadway hit Hamilton: An American Musical  in  dreamy Chicago.

I am %100 sure that I do not have the rhetorical capacity to administer the praise and recognition this play deserves, but I will give you my very best. (I apologize to everyone who is impressively educated in theatre arts. I did not deserve this opportunity and you have every right to resent me)

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetMe outside of the Private Bank Theatre after the play. My dewey eyed gaze is something I like to call the “Post Hamilton Glow.” I don’t think I will every look more radiant.

 I cried, I laughed, I cried again… and again and again. The performance consumed all of my senses and commanded my attention. I kept my blinking to a minimum in fear that I would miss something. I ! Was ! Freaking ! OUT!!!!!

Thoughts during/ post play : I AM MERELY MORTAL, I AM UNWORTHY. HOW DID I EVER SMILE BEFORE. HOW DID THIS CREATION STEM FROM SOMEONE’S MIND. THE CAPACITY OF HUMAN TALENT IS ENDLESS. 

For those of you who have never heard of the masterpiece that is Hamilton, I truly do not know how you’ve avoided it. However, it is my absolute privilege to enlighten you.

The shining creation of Lin- Manuel Miranda is a brilliant, hip-hop filled tribute to the founding father, and American’s most overlooked hero, Alexander Hamilton. This compilation of theatrical genius has been the anthem that re-inspired a nation. It was without a doubt the best thing that happened to me (and arguably the world) in 2016.

SO, what makes Hamilton so good?

  1. It is the story of the birth of our nation, told through the remarkable life of one man
  2. Though the story is hundreds of years old, it deals with social issues that are relevant now more than ever. It is a reminder that America is a nation made up of immigrants. Lin- Manuel Miranda intentionally cast people of color to reflect how America looks today.

    screen-shot-2017-01-30-at-1-08-20-am
    Via BrainyQuote:
  3. It reflects the life of anyone who faced adversity and came to America to create a better life for themselves
  4. It’s a damn good show.

Every piece of the show was perfectly executed. The choreography, the cast, the lyrics, the voices, the music, the clothing, the set detail- literally everything worked together to create a beautiful, cultural phenomenon.  IMG_9248.JPG

Need more proof? Go see it for yourself. I HIGHLY recommend it.

I could continue to write and never stop, but all good things must come to an end.

Thank you to everyone who had any role in the creation of this play. As a 21 year old who had been struggling in a creative rut, it did wonders for my personal growth. It inspired me, as a writer and a creator.

I will NOT throw away my shot. Everyday, I will write like I’m running out of time.

Special shout out to my dear friend, Rachel Ralph, who made this moment possible. I will never be able to repay you.

img_8006Pictured above: Star stunned Rachel with actor, Chris Lee, who plays the part of both Lafayette and Thomas Jefferson

 If you have never heard this beautiful work, here is a mere glimpse of the genius that exists on Broadway today.

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

