The Bounce Back

**The majority of my personal happiness stems from experiences rather than materialistic pleasures. Therefore, I am actively making unwise monetary decisions in order to EXPERIENCE life with my friends- laughing and living are what I do best.**

My entire 2016  was a never ending cycle of FUN: from spending my summer in Italy, attending Lollapalooza & Music Midtown, seeing Hamilton: The American Musical, going to Disney World 5 times in one year, seeing my favorite bands in concert, witnessing almost every UT Football game (win or lose) and so much more. Every weekend was filled with an excursion that I could look forward to to get me through my week. (Sorry to sound braggy I promise that I realize that I am #blessed)

So far, 2017 has been less than fulfilling. As I prepare to graduate and enter the real world, I have taken it upon myself to focus on school,work, and academic extracurriculars rather than fuel my yearning for fun.

Needless to say, adjusting to life and coming off of the high that was 2016 has been rough. Doing cool things had given me the affirmation that I was in fact, cool. I found myself battling a constant internal voice that was telling me that I had lost my spark. I was no longer the fun, sunshiny girl of 2016.

One day when I was sitting in my bed looking at my planner sulking about how sad and boring my life was, quickly earning the title “the least appreciative girl in the world.” I am not sure what spurred the punch that I needed, but suddenly I was hit in the face with guilt and realization. As I sat there on my bed, sobbing, I realized that I am so damn BLESSED. I had been so ignorant. I am lucky to have had those amazing experiences, but I don’t have to be somewhere exotic to enjoy life.

I have slowly learned how to cope with my despondent and pessimistic attitude. I realize how ridiculously bratty and annoying I have been for the past two months. I had forgotten how to find the joy and the fun in every day life. I had stopped laughing and I had stopped living. As a way to keep myself accountable, I have create a list of four daily reminders that have helped me improve the attitude of my mind, soul, and body.

  1. SLOW DOWN & LIVE IN THE MOMENT
  2. FIND JOY IN EVERY DAY ACTIVITIES
  3. RECOGNIZE THE LIGHTS AROUND YOU
  4. STOP GIVING A SHIT ABOUT BEING COOL

I hope you find this helpful, or at least humorous! Thanks for reading folks

Ta ta for now!

About the post

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

